Cracked rear hub on 2018 EC300

2smokehaze

Hey guys,
Just a heads up. I noticed slight play in my rear wheel after loading up the bike to go for a ride. Thought it was strange since the bike only has 70 hours of easy trail riding and never blasted the hubs with a pressure washer.

I found a crack on my rear hub (brake disc side) that has been letting water in and flogged out the bearing. It was full of rust, even the spring in the oil seal was pure rust. While staring at the hub face I notice one side was thicker then the other so it had been machined for the bearings and oil seal off-center. The crack developing on the thinnest part obviously.

Please check your hubs around the oil seal for cracks. Not sure if the off center machining on mine is a one off Monday morning or Friday afternoon job but check it out anyways. I wish I noticed it while I still had warranty.

It's my first time posting and have no idea how to post pics.

Sorry for the late reply.
Yeah big pain in the butt. I ended up getting it welded up for now. Having trouble finding an aftermarket hub for a decent price.
Its visible while still on the bike. Just spin the rear wheel while looking at the hub seal. I can email pics if you like or sms them to ya if you're in Australia

I have a new oem (pre 2018) hub complete with bearings and inner spacers that I would sale for $150 plus shipping but you might have to swap out the spacers to make it work on 2018/2019 bike. This is probably the same hub but it will have a different part number because it is black. I could mount it on my lathe and sand and polish it smooth for another $25. This hub has never been laced up to a wheel.

Sorry for the late reply.
Yeah big pain in the butt. I ended up getting it welded up for now. Having trouble finding an aftermarket hub for a decent price.
Its visible while still on the bike. Just spin the rear wheel while looking at the hub seal. I can email pics if you like or sms them to ya if you're in Australia