NOZH needle

hamilton

Gold Level Site Supporter
I could use a little help getting my 12 200 jetting where I want it. Stock needle is NOZH i need to know what needle is half a clip leaner. I just got my tool kit and it has a CHN needle not sure how they compare?

The CHN is the Euro emissions compliant needle, toss it. I think an N1EH should be a half clip leaner than an NOZH. Sorry I have no specific 200 experience. Curious, what carb came on the bike? What slide?

Good I need one more useless needle I'll put it with the other 50. It came with 38 ASI #7 slide. Jetting is so close, can't wait for sandy lane.

Yeah I figured that you got the older carb, probably 2K-2 ignition too which is good on a 200. My buddy picked up his '12 250 leftover today, same setup as yours and mine.

I'm focusing on hare scrambles this year but might be there too. I'll be at the first HS March 3. I may have that N1EH needle, will check tomorrow.

Note that N1EH is half a clip richer.

There is no needle half a clip leaner than NOZx#1. Also be aware that lifting the needle enough to clean up the bottom end usually comes at the expense of losing good power through the midrange.

OK, I wasn't sure richer/leaner. Still should be able to get the same result as long as the NOZH is not in #5.

hamilton,

Look in the jetting database for setups on the 200. If you have the notched #7 slide rarther than the non-notched slide, one richer on the pilot seems to work better for max torque, at least in the 250.

Right on! Should give the adjustability as required as long as you're not at the end of the needle already and trying to go leaner. Very interested to see what you end up with in the end.

Thanks for the help, I don't think the n1eh will help it's at clip 1-top now. I found my notes for my 07 ktm 200 guess what had the same issue, it had a nozh needle also. I went to nozi clip 3 with shim same pilot and main setting as I have in the gasgas now, it was spot on for me. I will try that.