fuel usage question

Krisden

I know there are a few threads on this but they are more aimed at other year bikes
I'm new to GasGas bikes just swapped over to a euro 2010 300 from a wr450
and the fuel usage is a problem, on mixed tracks i'm getting 120km (75 miles) from 12 liters (3.2 Gallons)
What im asking, is that normal of can i improve my range ?
It has standard gearing (a 47 rear would help ?)
I try to lug it but band is so much fun :D
Does the 2010 euro have the older carb or the new one and if so it the float setting 6.5 mm ?
I know that lots of questions but ive read almost every post and haven't got an answer that made sense

cheers
Kris

I guess it depends how you ride but that is pretty good economy out of a tank imo. I get about 90km to a tank in mixed and 80 in tight singles.

IMO its poor fuel economy! 10KM/L..

The carb is the newer PWK ASII (I think all the Euros got 38mm bodies). For setting the float easier then measuring is to just lay it over and have them a little off level. I think measurement wise mine is at around 7-7.5mm.

I know lots of people running 42 N3EJ#3 178 get somewhere between 70-90km per tank so if you're running those jetting specs you're getting about the same as everyone else.

FWW I also find lugging the engine (open throttle, low revs) tends to drink just as much fuel as it does to keep the engine singing.

See this thread with video of my Euro running in the wet last week. It took 6L of fuel to top up at the 70km mark. Not the best economy I've had but works out to be 110km from the 9.5L tank.
http://www.gasgasrider.org/forum/showthread.php?t=11529

Leaning out your jetting will improve your fuel economy. The question is how lean can you safely go without losing power or causing damage. I find even half a clip pos change makes a noticable difference to fuel usage.

Thought I'd just throw in that I'm running 13-50 gearing aswell.