EC300 Carb Dirty?

jyellard

Between kids, work, and pursuing my master's degree I haven't had much time for riding. I haven't been on a good ride in about a year. Every 3 months or so I've taken my kids on a ride around the neighborhood. This evening I took them for a ride. The more I rode the more I noticed a lack of power when giving it gas at lower rpms. Finally, it died and would not restart.

I almost have my laundry room remodel complete and was wanting to ride before the spring semester.

I figure it is probably either the plug or the carb.

Can one of you experts give me some specific directions so that hopefully I may finally ride this 4 day New Years weekend before the spring semester.

Thanks,

Josh

I'm no expert, but I would start with easy stuff....
--got gas in it (good gas?)
--petcock on?
--pull plug and look at it...oily, fouled?
--try a new plug

if above doesn't work, have a beer and repost

Roger dodger. Fresh fuel (including cracking the drain plug on the bottom of the carb and checking for water/sediment). Fresh spark plug (can make sure you're getting spark by earthing it against the head/frame).

What's the master's degree in? (It doesn't relate to your problem, but I am curious).

Do you have a fuel filter inline? Could that be partially blocked (oxygenated gas turning to solids), allowing enough fuel flow to fill the carb over time, but not flowing enough in real time?

How old is the bike? I had a petcock problem in my 1978 bmw where the ethanol swelled the gasket to the point where gas flow was radically decreased. it would fill the bowl while standing, but not in real time.