New 2011 XC 250 or Demo 2012 XC 300?

Ryan450r

Looking at picking up a new bike.

I'm new to woods riding but not new to moto, snocross, etc.

I'm 5'9" and 191 before gear.

I have a decision to make and hoping you guys will have some valid opinions.

2011 New leftover 250. All setup OTD except no suspension work yet until winter. Has Sachs OC fork and Sachs shock(red/silver one). Seat height fits me better on this bike.

OR

2012 300. Low hours. Setup pretty much the same as far as bolt ons. Advantage here is the 48 Marzocchi and Ohlin 888 I believe. This bike will probably be better stock suspension but would also need to be sent off over winter. This option is $1000 more.

I don't really WANT to spend $1000 more... but should I?

Life is really tough when you have these kind of delema's isn't it? :D

Me

If u have not already, get pics of the demo. I bought a demo with 5 hrs on it and it was more beat up then my previous bike that had 70hrs on it. I do not think this is the norm but none the less....

Oh, I am sold on 300's :)

Go the 48 zokies.Big improvemnt over the45's.You wont regret it.

The 2011 has the Sachs 48s, not the Zoke 45s.

Don't be scared off by the Sachs - they can be made to work very well with revalving, and according to our Australian friends even better with TTX inserts.

The 12s retain the excellent handling of the 11s and have a bunch of cool new features not the least of which are the 48 Marzocchi CCs, but the 11s were really solid, well sorted bikes. Desertgasser and Husley were both right - the 300 is sweet, sweet potion, but make sure the demo is in decent shape or the new 250 may be a better option.

(full disclosure - I just sold my 40 hr 2012 300 to Desertgasser, and Husley's bike started out as a 2hr demo unit in my shop before being transferred to another dealer, demo'd some more, and ultimately to him. And I owned a 2011 XC250 with Sachs ...)

Looking at picking up a new bike.